Bethea's Byte
‘Wonder Woman 1984’ Reviews: What the Critics Are Saying HjN73
Welcome to Bethea's Byte. If you are a member, please sign in and participate. If you are not a member, please sign up and join the conversation. We'd love to hear from you.
Bethea's Byte
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Welcome
HQi3B.pngHQdZU.png
WELCOME TO YOUR HOME FOR...
NEWS
OPINIONS
DEBATES
AND YOUR VOICE
BETHEA'S BYTE
BYTE THIS
https://www.betheasbyte.com
Log in

I forgot my password

Notifications
    Who is online?
    In total there are 4 users online :: 1 Registered, 0 Hidden and 3 Guests :: 1 Bot

    The Last Outlaw

    [ View the whole list ]


    Most users ever online was 156 on Wed Jul 03, 2019 11:22 am
    Recent Members
    See more
    Statistics
    We have 36 registered users
    The newest registered user is Niko

    Our users have posted a total of 4724 messages in 2111 subjects
    January 2022
    SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
          1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031     

    Calendar Calendar

    Affiliate With Bethea’s Byte


    Bethea's Byte

    Anti-Spam Bots!

    Submit Your Site To The Web's Top 50 Search Engines for Free!






    The Coffee House


    Planet Nexus





    IconSkouliki
    BG Music

    ‘Wonder Woman 1984’ Reviews: What the Critics Are Saying

    View previous topic View next topic Go down

    The Last Outlaw
    The Last Outlaw
    Head Administrator
    Head Administrator
    Male Posts : 2161
    Age : 45
    Join date : 2018-05-25
    Location : Salem, Oregon
    Status :
    Online
    Offline

    http://betheasbyte.com/forum

    PostThe Last Outlaw Tue Dec 15, 2020 6:54 pm

    ‘Wonder Woman 1984’ Reviews: What the Critics Are Saying DZobR

    ‘Wonder Woman 1984’ Reviews: What the Critics Are Saying D57q0

    Eli Countryman of Variety Magazine

    ‘Wonder Woman 1984’ Reviews: What the Critics Are Saying Wonder-Woman-1984

    The DC Cinematic Universe seems to have found another success with Wonder Woman 1984.

    Reviews began to flood in on Tuesday, with the majority of the critics favoring the film for its escapist qualities and director Patty Jenkins’ take on the 1980s. The movie, releasing in theaters and on HBO Max on Dec. 25, finds the titular character (Gal Gadot) in a world of hope and positivity as her love interest from the first film (Chris Pine) returns. And while Wonder Woman 1984 has earned an 89% rating from Rotten Tomatoes after 71 critic reviews, many commentators noted that, while fun, the movie often felt overindulgent or cliché.

    “Movies don’t solve global health crises, but they can distract and inspire us,” wrote Variety‘s Peter Debruge. “They can bring us together when we’re apart and heal the divisions that define our times. I suppose Wonder Woman 1984 can achieve some of those things, but mostly it reminds us how badly we could use a superhero right now — a fantasy turn-back-time and fix-the-situation savior — and in that sense, it’s at once a fizzy pop-art distraction and a major downer.”

    See what else the critics are saying below:

    Peter Debruge of Variety Magazine wrote:Like Jenkins’ original ‘Wonder Woman,’ this sequel spins out of control once the villains gain their full power, shifting from engaging character-based comedy to eye-crossing, CGI-bloated super-battle. (Cue Hans Zimmer’s typically overzealous thunder score.) Jenkins is an enormously talented filmmaker on whom the studio took a chance — one that’s seldom questioned when conferred upon men — and she proves her worth by never letting the spectacle drown out the performances. Unlike so many of DC’s impossibly chiseled leading men, the undeniably gorgeous Gadot makes Wonder Woman’s qualities seem relatable — and therefore worthy of aspiring to.
    Stephanie Zacharek of TIME Magazine wrote:Why do we always have to be reminded of Wonder Woman’s purpose? Why can’t she just be? The 2017 ‘Wonder Woman’ held some promise that a new breed of superhero movies directed by women, and starring women, might actually be less formulaic than the guy-centric ones. Jenkins and Gadot built some wit into the thing: Diana, having been raised in a society of fiercely self-sufficient women athletes and warriors, had never seen a man before Steve Trevor dropped into her sights, and she had some fun figuring out the mysteries of this adorably inferior creature. Now, in addition to swinging her magic lasso around now and then, she’s saddled with a few too many dull, lofty speeches about truth. This, apparently, is the equality we fought for.
    Alex Abad-Santos of Vox wrote:The best moments of Jenkins’s ambitious and hefty sequel, ‘WW1984,’ engages with Wonder Woman’s very human problem. Diana is a goddess — in appearance, morality, strength, invulnerability — living among mortals, but she is otherwise alone. But superhero movies, even those with the emotional promise of Wonder Woman, are unfortunately never fully about the emotional fragility our characters can’t punch their way through. Superhero movies are supposed to be big, expensive, loud, and fun. And WW1984 is stuffed to its cinematic seams, sometimes to its detriment.
    Richard Lawson of Vanity Fair Magazine wrote:Undoubtedly, ‘WW84’ would have played better on a big screen — because of the added scope and scale, and because it would be that much richer experienced among a supportive crowd. Sitting on your couch in your cramped domestic bubble (and, in my case, with a critic-screener watermark splashed across the screen), the effect is not quite so transporting. It has its moments of pure popcorn transcendence, but struggles to maintain an air of blockbuster grandeur. That is partly appreciated — in being so unconnected to the gravity of a cinematic universe, the film is freer, more nimble — but it’s also perhaps a sorry indicator of what’s to come, as Warner Bros. takes all of its tentpoles and shrinks them down to backyard size.
    Nicholas Barber of BBC wrote:Jenkins has said that she would have liked the film to be 15 minutes longer. Some viewers might have liked it to be 15 minutes shorter. But, for most of the running time, they will be happy to be in Wonder Woman’s uplifting company. In its old-fashioned, uncynical way, ‘WW84’ is one of the most enjoyable blockbusters to be released since 1984.
    Justin Chang of The Los Angeles Times wrote:If what you wish for this season is high spirits, earnest emotions and the unironically delightful sight of Chris Pine in a fanny pack, well, consider it granted. This extravagant, genially overstuffed sequel may be a product of 2020, but its spirit feels gratifyingly in sync with 1984 — a year that, for all its Orwellian associations, predates the chaos and cynicism of our pandemic-stricken, politically deranged moment. And our comic-book movie craze, too: Jenkins (who wrote the script with Geoff Johns and Dave Callaham) channels a moment when blockbuster imperatives, while hardly absent, had not yet pummeled the industry into submission.
    Angie Han of Mashable wrote:What’s never in doubt is that ‘WW84,’ like its heroine, has its heart in the right place. The emotions work even when the calculations behind them don’t quite add up, and nowhere is this truer than in Diana and Steve’s rekindled relationship. Their romance has the proportions of a myth (she’s a goddess in love with a mortal), but it’s grounded in relatable pain (she’s a lonely woman who’s never gotten over her first love). Gadot and Pine smolder with an intensity that you believe could carry on for decades, and the very best of her performance shines through in the scenes when she’s rubbed completely raw.
    Brian Truitt of USA Today wrote:The biggest problem with ‘1984’ is there’s just too much of, well, everything. An extended Amazons-centric opening featuring kid Diana is cool but takes too long to get the movie humming, and some iffy visual effects mar the more massive, blockbuster-ready scenes. Still, the action-packed, heartwarming flick hits more than it misses, especially for fans waiting through a year full of release delays.
    Molly Freeman of Screen Rant wrote:At its heart, ‘Wonder Woman 1984’ tells a very human story about love and loss that feels especially prescient in 2020, but the film never loses hope or faith in the ultimate goodness of the world and those who live in it. Gadot’s Diana embodies that hope and optimism in every way – sometimes to the point that it feels far too unrealistic in a year filled with so much loss, but that blind idealism is also comforting in its steadfastness. Gadot again brings an equal amount of vulnerability and strength to the role of Diana that gives Wonder Woman a uniquely dynamic screen presence. ‘Wonder Woman 1984’ is further buoyed by Pine’s turn as Steve Trevor, working well to ground Diana in a humanity that could be tough for an Amazonian princess.

    _________________
    ‘Wonder Woman 1984’ Reviews: What the Critics Are Saying GO3ER
    ‘Wonder Woman 1984’ Reviews: What the Critics Are Saying Hobsv‘Wonder Woman 1984’ Reviews: What the Critics Are Saying HoIiA


    UFC Fight Night 192: Smith vs. Spann
    Kyng
    Contributing Manager
    Contributing Manager
    Posts : 591
    Join date : 2018-05-30
    Status :
    Online
    Offline

    PostKyng Sat Dec 26, 2020 2:30 pm

    Sadly, it seems the Metacritic scores aren't that great right now. 59 out of 100 from critics, and 4.8 out of 10 from viewers:

    https://www.metacritic.com/movie/wonder-woman-1984

    Judging from people's comments, it sounds like a movie that would probably be fun to watch; however, I'd try not to think too hard about it, and I certainly wouldn't go in expecting a compelling story Razz.

    The Last Outlaw likes this post

    The Last Outlaw
    The Last Outlaw
    Head Administrator
    Head Administrator
    Male Posts : 2161
    Age : 45
    Join date : 2018-05-25
    Location : Salem, Oregon
    Status :
    Online
    Offline

    http://betheasbyte.com/forum

    PostThe Last Outlaw Sat Dec 26, 2020 2:34 pm

    @Kyng wrote:Sadly, it seems the Metacritic scores aren't that great right now. 59 out of 100 from critics, and 4.8 out of 10 from viewers:

    https://www.metacritic.com/movie/wonder-woman-1984

    Judging from people's comments, it sounds like a movie that would probably be fun to watch; however, I'd try not to think too hard about it, and I certainly wouldn't go in expecting a compelling story Razz.

    I'd probably watch it as a fan. I normally don't trust critics words. When it comes to movies I like, I watch it, and if I don't, I'll never watch it again! Period!

    _________________
    ‘Wonder Woman 1984’ Reviews: What the Critics Are Saying GO3ER
    ‘Wonder Woman 1984’ Reviews: What the Critics Are Saying Hobsv‘Wonder Woman 1984’ Reviews: What the Critics Are Saying HoIiA


    UFC Fight Night 192: Smith vs. Spann
    Kyng
    Contributing Manager
    Contributing Manager
    Posts : 591
    Join date : 2018-05-30
    Status :
    Online
    Offline

    PostKyng Thu Dec 31, 2020 4:28 am

    Yeah, I'll probably end up watching it eventually. Though, it's a question of whether I watch it immediately, or wait for it to come out on home media Razz .

    The Last Outlaw likes this post

    View previous topic View next topic Back to top

    Create an account or log in to leave a reply

    You need to be a member in order to leave a reply.

    Create an account

    Join our community by creating a new account. It's easy!


    Create a new account

    Log in

    Already have an account? No problem, log in here.


    Log in

     
    Permissions in this forum:
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum