Bethea's Byte
OPINION: Why Obama Will Go Down as One of the Greatest Presidents of All Time D5FRa
Welcome to Bethea's Byte. If you are a member, please sign in and participate. If you are not a member, please sign up and join the conversation. We'd love to hear from you.
Bethea's Byte
OPINION: Why Obama Will Go Down as One of the Greatest Presidents of All Time D5FRa
Welcome to Bethea's Byte. If you are a member, please sign in and participate. If you are not a member, please sign up and join the conversation. We'd love to hear from you.
Bethea's Byte
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
WELCOME TO YOUR HOME FOR NEWS, OPINIONS, DEBATES & YOUR VOICE -- BETHEA'S BYTE
Welcome guests and members to the home for News, Opinions, Debates and Your Voice... Bethea's Byte. To all guests of this site, please feel free to look things over, but you are encouraged to register and take part in discussing all news reports posted here. You are also encouraged, as a member to post your own news stories. We would love to have discussions on your news reports as well. You are further encouraged to debate these stories as well, especially in the political areas. All I ask is that no matter what side you're on, keep the debates civil. If you are joining us from another forum, we ask you to affiliate with us. We are more than happy to check you out, join your site and participate with you as well. Once again, you are welcome here at Bethea's Byte. Join in the conversation. Spark a discussion. Have a passionate debate. Most importantly, Let your voice be heard! BYTE THIS!
Log in

I forgot my password

Notifications
    Who is online?
    In total there are 5 users online :: 1 Registered, 0 Hidden and 4 Guests

    The Last Outlaw

    [ View the whole list ]


    Most users ever online was 156 on Wed Jul 03, 2019 11:22 am
    Statistics
    We have 33 registered users
    The newest registered user is GamrNrd

    Our users have posted a total of 4221 messages in 1729 subjects
    Latest topics
    » What are your plans for the day
    OPINION: Why Obama Will Go Down as One of the Greatest Presidents of All Time Clock-10Yesterday at 9:34 am by Naiwen

    » Here's How Long Derek Chauvin Could Spend in Prison
    OPINION: Why Obama Will Go Down as One of the Greatest Presidents of All Time Clock-10Tue Apr 20, 2021 8:37 pm by The Last Outlaw

    » Derek Chauvin Convicted of Murder and Manslaughter in George Floyd's Death
    OPINION: Why Obama Will Go Down as One of the Greatest Presidents of All Time Clock-10Tue Apr 20, 2021 5:55 pm by The Last Outlaw

    » 'Wheel of Fortune' Fans Call For Rule Change After Contestant Loses on Minor Technicality
    OPINION: Why Obama Will Go Down as One of the Greatest Presidents of All Time Clock-10Thu Apr 08, 2021 3:12 pm by The Last Outlaw

    » Fla. Teacher Who Presented Herself as 'Mother Figure' Accused of Sexually Abusing Student for Years
    OPINION: Why Obama Will Go Down as One of the Greatest Presidents of All Time Clock-10Fri Apr 02, 2021 4:15 pm by The Last Outlaw

    » Derek Chauvin Trial: MMA Fighter Who Watched George Floyd's Death Says He Called Police on the Police
    OPINION: Why Obama Will Go Down as One of the Greatest Presidents of All Time Clock-10Tue Mar 30, 2021 10:36 am by The Last Outlaw

    » Gun Laws and Stats
    OPINION: Why Obama Will Go Down as One of the Greatest Presidents of All Time Clock-10Mon Mar 29, 2021 4:11 pm by The Last Outlaw

    » Floyd Family Kneels Outside Courthouse in Symbolic Statement
    OPINION: Why Obama Will Go Down as One of the Greatest Presidents of All Time Clock-10Mon Mar 29, 2021 8:58 am by The Last Outlaw

    » Boulder Shooting: Multiple Injuries, Residents Take Shelter as Police Look For Gunman
    OPINION: Why Obama Will Go Down as One of the Greatest Presidents of All Time Clock-10Tue Mar 23, 2021 11:28 am by The Last Outlaw

    » Person of Interest in the Deaths of 5 People, Including Ex-Wife, Allegedly Admits to Murdering 16
    OPINION: Why Obama Will Go Down as One of the Greatest Presidents of All Time Clock-10Mon Mar 22, 2021 7:53 pm by The Last Outlaw

    » If You Haven’t Received Your 3rd Stimulus Check Yet, Here’s Why Wednesday Matters
    OPINION: Why Obama Will Go Down as One of the Greatest Presidents of All Time Clock-10Mon Mar 22, 2021 6:17 pm by The Last Outlaw

    » Free Byte: What Grinds My Gears? Cancel Culture
    OPINION: Why Obama Will Go Down as One of the Greatest Presidents of All Time Clock-10Sun Mar 21, 2021 5:42 pm by Kyng

    » Tennessee Sister and Brother Charged with First-Degree Murder in the Death of Their Disabled Mother
    OPINION: Why Obama Will Go Down as One of the Greatest Presidents of All Time Clock-10Sun Mar 21, 2021 5:37 pm by The Last Outlaw

    » Spa Shooting Victims ID'd As Biden, Harris Head To Atlanta
    OPINION: Why Obama Will Go Down as One of the Greatest Presidents of All Time Clock-10Fri Mar 19, 2021 12:18 pm by The Last Outlaw

    » Food and more!
    OPINION: Why Obama Will Go Down as One of the Greatest Presidents of All Time Clock-10Wed Mar 17, 2021 10:49 am by Naiwen

    » Michelle Obama Responds to Meghan Markle and Prince Harry's Oprah Winfrey Interview
    OPINION: Why Obama Will Go Down as One of the Greatest Presidents of All Time Clock-10Tue Mar 16, 2021 10:11 am by The Last Outlaw

    » Queen Elizabeth Says Saddened by Harry and Meghan's Experiences
    OPINION: Why Obama Will Go Down as One of the Greatest Presidents of All Time Clock-10Sun Mar 14, 2021 3:53 pm by The Last Outlaw

    » Suicide Prevention
    OPINION: Why Obama Will Go Down as One of the Greatest Presidents of All Time Clock-10Sat Mar 13, 2021 11:09 pm by The Last Outlaw

    » Jury Selection in Derek Chauvin Case Starts Despite Prosecutors Wanting to Halt Trial
    OPINION: Why Obama Will Go Down as One of the Greatest Presidents of All Time Clock-10Tue Mar 09, 2021 9:35 am by The Last Outlaw

    » House Progressives Back Revised COVID-19 Aid Bill as Vote Nears
    OPINION: Why Obama Will Go Down as One of the Greatest Presidents of All Time Clock-10Mon Mar 08, 2021 3:49 pm by The Last Outlaw

    May 2021
    SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
          1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031     

    Calendar Calendar

    CBOX
    Affiliate With Bethea’s Byte


    Bethea's Byte

    Anti-Spam Bots!

    Submit Your Site To The Web's Top 50 Search Engines for Free!






    The Coffee House


    Planet Nexus





    IconSkouliki

    OPINION: Why Obama Will Go Down as One of the Greatest Presidents of All Time

    View previous topic View next topic Go down

    The Last Outlaw
    The Last Outlaw
    Male Posts : 1739
    Age : 45
    Join date : 2018-05-25
    Location : Salem, Oregon
    Status :
    Online
    Offline

    http://betheasbyte.com/forum

    PostThe Last Outlaw Wed Jun 26, 2019 10:29 pm

    OPINION: Why Obama Will Go Down as One of the Greatest Presidents of All Time IERHI

    Welcome to this edition of FREE BYTE. I'm not gonna say anything in this edition. I will let this article of opinion from GQ Magazine say it all for me. This is the opinion of the writer and not necessarily that of Bethea's Byte.

    Jim Nelson For GQ Magazine wrote:
    OPINION: Why Obama Will Go Down as One of the Greatest Presidents of All Time Obama-Editor-Letter-may-2016

    Something is dawning on us—it’s almost too soon for us to admit, but it’s there, a half-considered thought only now blooming in our brains. Maybe we dismiss it with one of those quick cognitive fly swats. Nah, too early to say or I hate that guy. But the truth is coming, and it sounds like this: Barack Obama will be inducted into the league of Great Presidents.

    Wait. One of the Greatest? you ask, your thumb emoticon poised to turn up or down on me. The guy haters love to hate with their very best hate game? Like 20-Dollar Bill great? Like Mount Rushmore great?

    Yep. (We just won’t build Mount Rushmores anymore.) In so many ways, Obama was better than we imagined, better than the body politic deserved, and far, far better than his enemies will ever concede, but the great thing about being great is that the verdict of enemies doesn’t matter.

    In fact, and I say this as a Bill Clinton fan, I now feel certain that, in the coming decades, Obama’s star will rise higher than Clinton’s, and he’ll replace Bill in the public mind as the Greatest Democrat since FDR.

    This has to do with the nature of Obama’s leadership, which is to play to legacy (and Clinton’s impulse, which is to play to the room). Bill Clinton will long be revered because he’s charismatic, presided over an economic revival, and changed and elevated the view of the Democratic Party. Barack Obama will long be revered because he’s charismatic, presided over an economic revival, and changed and elevated the view of the presidency. He’s simply bigger than Bill.

    More to the point, Obama’s legacy is the sort that gets canonized. Because the first rule of Hall of Fame-dom: The times have to suck for the president not to. Civil wars, World Wars, depressions and recessions. You got to have ’em if you wanna be great. That’s why we rate the Washingtons, Lincolns, and Roosevelts over That Fat Guy with the Walrus Mustache. Like Obama, these Great Men were dealt sucky hands, won big, and left the country better off than it was before.

    But it’s also why we downgrade the Jimmy Carters and Herbert Hoovers. Were they as bad in real time as we remember them in history? Probably not. But they were dealt sucky hands, only played one round, and left the country feeling worse off. Legacy Game over. (Hoover reminds me more and more of Donald Trump! Elected with little political experience, Hoover was a rich bastard whose central theme was that government was wasteful. His answer to the Great Depression was to start a trade war and build a massive project called the Hoover Dam. The dam turned out to be a giant wall that did not stop or solve larger problems. Déjà vu, thy name is Trump Wall!)

    Obama has a few other edges in the long haul of history, beyond specific hurrah moments like Obamacare, rescuing the economy, and making America way more bi-curious. Being the first black president of course secures a certain legacy. But what now feels distinctly possible is that, just as Martin Luther King Jr. dreamed, over time he may be judged less for the color of his skin than for the content of his character. That character came across every time haters or Trumpers or birthers tried to pull him down into the mud or question his American-ness. He just flew above it all. And, luckily, he took most of us with him. He was the Leader not only of our country but of our mood and disposition, which is harder to rule. At a time when we became more polarized, our discourse pettier and more poisoned, Obama always came across as the Adult in the Room, the one we wanted to be and follow.

    Ironically, one of the lock-ins to his Hall of Fame Greatness was originally supposed to be his Achilles’ heel, the shallow thing critics loved to smear him with: his eloquence, his “reliance” on speeches and teleprompters (Sarah Palin once famously screeched, “Mr. President…step away from the teleprompter and do your job!” while herself reading from a teleprompter), as if addressing the country as a whole, trying to unify or inspire people, were a superficial thing. But pivotal words at pivotal moments are not only how we come to admire great leaders, it’s the primary way we remember them. The first thing most people can recall about Lincoln? The Gettysburg Address. FDR? Fireside chats. George Washington? His amazing Snapchats. (George was first with everything.)

    With Obama, each thoughtful step of the way, from his soaring acceptance speech (“The road ahead will be long. Our climb will be steep…”) to his epic speeches on race and religion, his responses to the shootings in Tucson and Newtown, the killing of Osama bin Laden, the opening of Cuba (“Todos somos Americanos!”), and countless other momentous occasions, he knew how to speak to our better angels at a time when it was hard to locate any angels.

    Lastly, there’s the arc of history, bound to bend downward. As our unity becomes more frayed, more tenuous, and the ability for any politician to get anything done more unlikely, the job of president will become less LBJ tactical and less FDR big-dealer. The job will largely be to preside. To unify where and however we can. In this way, too, Obama pointed the way forward.

    It may be hard to imagine now, but in the face of rising chaos, we’ll crave unity all the more, and in future years whoever can speak most convincingly of unity will rise to the top. (It’s also hard to imagine many beating Obama at the game.) This year’s carnival election, with Trump as a kind of debauched circus barker, only makes the distinction clearer. The absurdity and car-crash spectacle of it all have already lent Obama an out-of-time quality, as if he were a creature from another, loftier century. Whatever happens next, I feel this in my bones: We’ll look back at history, hopefully when we’re zooming down the Barack Obama Hyperloop Transport System, and think: That man was rare. And we were damn lucky to have him.

    That's how he sees it. How do you see it? I'd like to hear from you.

    Just Saying
    OPINION: Why Obama Will Go Down as One of the Greatest Presidents of All Time I6goy

    _________________
    OPINION: Why Obama Will Go Down as One of the Greatest Presidents of All Time FBCTROPINION: Why Obama Will Go Down as One of the Greatest Presidents of All Time D5SsG
    OPINION: Why Obama Will Go Down as One of the Greatest Presidents of All Time Nexads420
    Kyng
    Posts : 531
    Join date : 2018-05-30
    Status :
    Online
    Offline

    PostKyng Thu Jun 27, 2019 12:21 pm

    Interesting thoughts. When Obama left office, my thoughts were, "He will be remembered as an average president: he won't be remembered as one of the greats, and he won't be remembered as a disaster either". But now, I miss him >_< .

    I guess we'll have to wait and see - but I think better of him now than I did back then...

    View previous topic View next topic Back to top

    Create an account or log in to leave a reply

    You need to be a member in order to leave a reply.

    Create an account

    Join our community by creating a new account. It's easy!


    Create a new account

    Log in

    Already have an account? No problem, log in here.


    Log in

     
    Permissions in this forum:
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum